Statement by Next Century Cities Executive Director Deb Socia on Broadband Initiative Announced in the State of the Union

Washington, D.C. (January 20, 2015) – Deb Socia, Executive Director of Next Century Cities, released the following statement in response to President Obama’s State of the Union remarks announcing a new high-speed broadband initiative:

“We applaud the White House for taking a strong stand in support of communities as they seek to adopt truly next-generation Internet. If we are going to move America’s towns and communities into the 21st century, cities must be in the driver’s seat. These proposals can help communities across the country find the solution that works for them.

“This isn’t a Republican or Democratic issue – this is about essential infrastructure that helps individuals and communities thrive. Our member communities – and their elected officials – support the entrepreneur launching a business, the doctor communicating with a patient, and the young student exploring the world from the classroom.

“We welcome the President’s leadership and are eager to learn more about what this commitment will mean for communities across the country.”



Next Century Cities is a city-to-city initiative founded to support communities and their elected leaders, including mayors and other officials, as they seek to ensure that all have access to fast, affordable, and reliable Internet. As innovative municipalities across the country recognize the importance of leveraging gigabit level Internet to attract new businesses and create jobs, improve health care and education, and connect residents to new opportunities, Next Century Cities will celebrate these successes, demonstrate their value, and help other cities to realize the full power of truly high-speed, affordable, and accessible broadband. For more information, visit

Next Century Cities’ 60 member cities include (* indicates inaugural partner city):

  • Ammon (ID)*
  • Arvada (CO)
  • Auburn (IN)*
  • Austin (TX)*
  • Beverly Hills (CA)
  • Boston (MA)*
  • Bryan (TX)
  • Burbank (CA)
  • Carbondale (IL)
  • Centennial (CO)*
  • Centerville (UT)
  • Champaign (IL)*
  • Chattanooga (TN)*
  • Clarksville (TN)*
  • Columbus (OH)
  • College Station (TX)
  • Cortez (CO)
  • Culver City (CA)
  • Garden Grove (CA)
  • Gresham (OR)
  • Independence (OR)
  • Jackson (TN)*
  • Kansas City (KS)*
  • Kansas City (MO)*
  • Lafayette (LA)*
  • Layton City (UT)
  • Leverett, (MA)*
  • Lexington (KY)*
  • Los Angeles (CA)
  • Louisville (KY)*
  • Madison (WI)
  • Medina County (OH)
  • Montrose (CO)*
  • Morristown (TN)*
  • Mount Vernon (WA)*
  • Opelika (AL)
  • Palo Alto (CA)*
  • Ponca City (OK)*
  • Portland (OR)*
  • Raleigh (NC)*
  • Rockport (ME)*
  • Salisbury (NC)
  • Sallisaw (OK)
  • San Antonio (TX)*
  • Sandy (OR)*
  • Santa Cruz County (CA)*
  • Santa Monica (CA)*
  • Seattle (WA)
  • South Portland (ME)*
  • South San Francisco (CA)
  • Spanish Fork (UT)
  • Stamford (CT)
  • Syracuse (NY)
  • Tucson (AZ)
  • Urbana (IL)*
  • Vancouver (WA)
  • Westminster (MD)*
  • Wilson (NC)*
  • Winthrop (MN)*
  • Yellow Springs (OH)