• Home
  • News
  • Next Century Cities Announces 50th City to Join Boston, Los Angeles, Kansas City and Other Leaders in Nationwide Broadband Initiative

Next Century Cities Announces 50th City to Join Boston, Los Angeles, Kansas City and Other Leaders in Nationwide Broadband Initiative

For Immediate Release
December 9, 2014
Contact: Deb Socia

Next Century Cities Announces 50th City to Join Boston, Los Angeles, Kansas City and Other Leaders in Nationwide Broadband Initiative

Since launching in October, new city-to-city initiative demonstrates widespread commitment to next-generation Internet

Washington, DC. (December 9, 2014) – Today Next Century Cities announced that Medina County (OH) joined the effort, bringing the total to 50 cities across the country. Since launching on October 20 with inaugural partners that included Boston, Raleigh, Kansas City, Chattanooga (TN), and Lafayette (LA), other communities such as Los Angeles, Syracuse, and Medina County (OH) have also come on board. Next Century Cities is a bipartisan, city-to-city initiative dedicated to ensuring the availability of next-generation broadband for all communities.

“Since launching Next Century Cities in October, we’ve seen incredible demand from cities looking to lead this conversation,” said Deb Socia, Executive Director of Next Century Cities. “Cities want their voices heard as our country debates the future of broadband.”

Next Century Cities launched in October 2014, convening member city leaders at a major kick-off event in Santa Monica. Following this launch, in November, Next Century Cities joined the Southeast Tennessee Development District in hosting a major field hearing in Chattanooga, “Envisioning a Gigabit Future,” that brought diverse private and bipartisan public sector voices together to testify to the need for high-speed Internet and local community choice.

Next Century Cities believes that there is no single pathway to a smart, effective approach to next-generation broadband. Instead, participating leaders and communities are committed to the following six principles:

  1. High-Speed Internet Is Necessary Infrastructure: fast, reliable, and affordable Internet – at globally competitive speeds – is no longer optional. Residents, schools, libraries, and businesses require next-generation connectivity to succeed.
  1. The Internet Is Nonpartisan: because the Internet is an essential resource for residents and businesses in all communities, the provision of fast, reliable, and affordable Internet transcends partisanship. This collaboration welcomes leaders of all affiliations and beliefs who believe fast, reliable, and affordable high-speed Internet access is essential to secure America’s Internet future.
  1. Communities Must Enjoy Self-Determination: broadband solutions must align with community needs—there is no perfect model that is universally appropriate. Towns and cities should have the right to consider all options – whether public, nonprofit, corporate, or some other hybrid – free from interference.
  1. High-Speed Internet Is a Community-Wide Endeavor:building effective next-generation networks requires cooperation across communities. It is critical to involve and include multiple stakeholders and perspectives to succeed, including businesses, community organizations, residents, anchor institutions, and others. Everyone in a community should be able to access the Internet on reasonable terms.
  1. Meaningful Competition Drives Progress: a vibrant, diverse marketplace, with transparency in offerings, pricings, and policies will spur innovation, increase investment, and lower prices. Communities, residents, and businesses should have a meaningful choice in providers.
  1. Collaboration Benefits All: innovative approaches to broadband deployment present diverse challenges and opportunities to communities and regions. Working together, cities can learn from the experiences of others, lower costs, and make the best use of next-generation networks.

Next Century Cities member cities include (* indicates inaugural partner city):

  • Ammon (ID)*
  • Arvada (CO)
  • Auburn (IN)*
  • Austin (TX)*
  • Beverly Hills (CA)
  • Boston (MA)*
  • Burbank (CA)
  • Carbondale (IL)
  • Centennial (CO)*
  • Centerville (UT)
  • Champaign (IL)*
  • Chattanooga (TN)*
  • Clarksville (TN)*
  • Columbus (OH)
  • Culver City (CA)
  • Gresham (OR)
  • Jackson (TN)*
  • Kansas City (KS)*
  • Kansas City (MO)*
  • Lafayette (LA)*
  • Leverett, (MA)*
  • Lexington (KY)*
  • Los Angeles (CA)
  • Louisville (KY)*
  • Medina County (OH)
  • Montrose (CO)*
  • Morristown (TN)*
  • Mount Vernon (WA)*
  • Opelika (AL)
  • Palo Alto (CA)*
  • Ponca City (OK)*
  • Portland (OR)*
  • Raleigh (NC)*
  • Rockport (ME)*
  • Salisbury (NC)
  • San Antonio (TX)*
  • Sandy (OR)*
  • Santa Cruz County (CA)*
  • Santa Monica (CA)*
  • South Portland (ME)*
  • South San Francisco (CA)
  • Stamford (CT)
  • Syracuse (NY)
  • Tucson (AZ)
  • Urbana (IL)*
  • Vancouver (WA)
  • Westminster (MD)*
  • Wilson (NC)*
  • Winthrop (MN)*
  • Yellow City (OH)

Next Century Cities is a city-to-city initiative founded to support communities and their elected leaders, including mayors and other officials, as they seek to ensure that all have access to fast, affordable, and reliable Internet. As innovative municipalities across the country recognize the importance of leveraging gigabit level Internet to attract new businesses and create jobs, improve health care and education, and connect residents to new opportunities, Next Century Cities will celebrate these successes, demonstrate their value, and help other cities to realize the full power of truly high-speed, affordable, and accessible broadband. For more information, visit www.nextcenturycities.org.


Share this post with your friends

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin